Category Archives: Writing

Merch Girl is Now Available for Nook!



Any Nook users out there? Now you can download Merch Girl on your Nook device or App! Click here to purchase for only $2.99!:


Merch Girl Character Spotlight – Lacey Kind


Let’s get to know a little more about Lacey Kind, the main character in Merch Girl.

Lacey Kind

Lacey Kind

Full Name: Lacey Anne Kind
Birth Date: July 31
Favorite Color: Purple
Favorite Band: Lansdowne!!!
Heels or flip-flops?: Flip-flops
Favorite place you’ve traveled?: LA was wicked cool, I love celebrities.
Favorite snack: Oreos
Tell us something we would be surprised to know about you: I am fluent in French and I once dyed my hair pink (temporarily)
Favorite TV show?: Anything on MTV
Favorite book?: The Perks of Being a Wallflower
Favorite Movie?: Almost Famous
Best tour memory?: Spending time with Logan in New York City

To learn more about Lacey, and her time on tour, check out Merch Girl, available on Amazon now!

New Novel in the Works!


My brain never stops thinking up new manuscript ideas. I tend to base my books off of things that I’ve experienced or know about, ie., I was a merch girl and interned in the music industry which brought about the idea for Merch Girl, the novel.

My major in college was Public Relations and I ended up becoming a publicist after I graduated. I love my day job in publicity – it’s hard work, but it’s exciting and there’s never a dull moment. I once got to walk Miley Cyrus down the red carpet during a gala event…that was such a career highlight for me! We talked about our dogs and I introduced her to the media from People Magazine and Entertainment Tonight.

Anyway, this experience got me thinking… what would happen if a junior publicist was in charge of handling a Hollywood heart throb who was a notorious troublemaker/player/all around bad boy? Sounds like a great plot for a book, right?? 🙂 Well, that’s the premise of my New Adult work-in-progress. I don’t want to share any nitty gritty details yet, but it’s been a lot of fun writing this one. It’s much steamier than Merch Girl! The main characters are in their early 20’s so I feel like I can get away with being a little more graphic.

If you’d like to check out some photo inspiration for this novel, click the link to my Pinterest board here. You’ll see that I’m basing the lead guy off of someone who looks like Zac Efron or Louis Tomlinson….hot, right? 🙂 Can’t wait to share more with you guys in the future!!

Merch Girl Character Spotlight – Logan Shire


I’m starting a new series of posts spotlighting the main characters in my YA novel Merch Girl! Here you’ll find the nitty gritty details that might not have made it into the book.

First up is everyone’s favorite rockstar, Logan Shire, lead singer of the band Lansdowne!

Logan Shire

Logan Shire

  • Full Name: Logan Matthew Shire
  • Birth Date: April 22
  • Favorite Color: Red
  • Favorite Band: Aerosmith
  • Boxers or Briefs?: Boxers
  • Favorite place to tour?: Boston, always!
  • Best prank you’ve pulled?: I tend to pants Griffin on stage a lot; he hates it, but that’s why it’s so fun
  • Tell us something we would be surprised to know about you: I used to have my eyebrow pierced, oh and I can do a perfect British accent
  • Favorite TV show?: True Blood
  • Favorite book?: Harry Potter
  • Favorite Movie?: The Departed
  • Tell us something about your bandmates that we wouldn’t know?: Ryan’s diet consists solely of pop-tarts, cheetos and mountain dew. Griffin tries to get a new tattoo in every city we go to, but our manager only lets him get away with it about half of the time.
  • Best tour memory?: Late-night conversations and pizza parties with some amazing new friends.


To learn more about Logan, his band and his first cross-country tour, check out Merch Girl, available on Amazon now!

Genre Switching?


Sorry for the delay in posts! I was on a very relaxing vacation. Anyway, I’ve been thinking a lot lately about this new book I’m writing. I would categorize it as “New Adult.” The main character is 21 and just starting her first job out of college. It’s definitely more mature than Merch Girl and has some intense scenes that are not meant for younger eyes to read. This got me thinking about genres. I classify Merch Girl as “Young Adult” and it’s safe enough for tweens to read. Is it wrong to skip around genres when you’re building an audience?

Most of the authors I read stick to one genre, be it paranormal, contemporary, young adult, adult, etc. You get comfortable with it and know what to expect. But is that always a good thing? The only popular author who I can recall switching genres and keeping her same author name is J.K. Rowling who came out with an adult novel after finishing the Harry Potter series. I can’t blame her for switching genres if she had a story in her head that was itching to get out, but I wonder how many Harry Potter fans read her new book? I haven’t read it yet, so I can’t comment on it, but I would be interested in seeing what it’s all about.

I know that I also have ideas kicking around in my brain for paranormal and even non-fiction. I don’t want to hold myself back from writing anything just because it doesn’t fit the genre that I wrote in before. I actually think it might be nice to gain new readers…and who knows, there may be cross-over readers who enjoy Young Adult, New Adult, Paranormal and Non-fiction…I know I do!

Authors and readers…I’d love to hear your thoughts on this!

Amazon Best Seller!


Wow….wow, wow, wow. I don’t even know what to say!!! After only 11 days of being published, Merch Girl has made not one, but three Amazon Best Sellers Lists!!!! I don’t know how it happened, but suddenly my sales started rolling in, and I am going with it! It’s currently #29 in the Hot New Releases in Coming of Age Fiction, #52 on the Teen Romance ebooks list and #62 in the Coming of Age Fiction list. It’s even sandwiched in between Twilight and Breaking Dawn on the Teen List! Take a look:


This has been an incredible day and I want to thank everyone single person who purchased a copy!! This makes it clear to me that if you have a dream, GO FOR IT. If hundreds of literary agents reject your book for over a year, don’t be afraid to take the leap and publish it on your own!! You have nothing to lose, and a good story to share that would have otherwise gone to waste. I am a full believer that everything happens for a reason. Sorry this turned very inspirational, but it’s true! Don’t give up!

Indie Publishing – Lessons Learned v1



Merch Girl is now 1 week old, yay! As I was gearing up to self publish my novel, I scoured the blogosphere for real-life accounts and experiences from other indie authors, so I’d like to return the favor. I’ll probably update this “Lessons Learned” feature once a month or so with any new information I can share. But, from my one week of being in the self published domain, here are some of my observations:

1. You will be glued to the computer 24/7
I’m usually glued to my computer anyway, but I think I’ve recently been hitting the refresh button on my Kindle Direct Publishing reports page way too often! But, I still get excited for Like…who is buying my book in the UK? How is it possible I sold 2 ebooks in Canada? What? I love watching the numbers, and I get so curious about who the people are that are buying it! I’m also obsessed with checking my Goodreads page which sucks so much time out of my life right now hahaha. I just can’t stop checking out all the people that add my book to their lists and I love seeing the reviews.

2. You must (must!) market yourself
Luckily, I am a publicist by day and even have a degree in Public Relations, so I knew going into self-publishing just how important being my own best supporter would be. Here are a few things I’ve done to get the word out there:

  • Twitter: Create a Twitter account and don’t just follow other authors…follow your readers! Before you publish your book, you must establish your target audience. It’s pretty easy to find your audience on twitter using the search feature. Since my book is about music and a boyband in particular, I followed a bunch of music loving girls, especially fans of bands that I enjoy. (shout out to the fansons and directioners!) But, don’t just follow a bunch of users…you need to interact! Tweet a few times a day, and don’t promote your book. I HATE when authors ONLY Tweet about their book. Get into actual, normal conversations with your fans. I also have a lot of indie bands following me, and I try to promote their music on my Twitter and this blog.
  • Facebook: You should create an author page. Don’t use your personal page, it doesn’t look professional. Plus, do you want all your readers looking at your family photo album? I think on Facebook you can be a little more promotional than you can on Twitter. Post links to blogs that feature your book or other reviews online. Post photos that inspired your book. Ask questions to your fans, etc.
  • Book Bloggers: Speaking of blogs, book bloggers will become your best friends! They hold the power of getting the word about your book out to hundreds, if not thousands of other readers! It’s easy to find book bloggers in your genre, just Google it! Make sure to read each blog’s review policy because they can be a little bit different, and some blogs do not accept indie author books.
  • Amazon Author Central: If you’re selling your book on Amazon, don’t forget to fill this page out! You can add your bio, editorial reviews, and link to your Twitter and blog as well.
  • Goodreads: Goodreads is an amazing tool for indie authors, and if you’re not using it, you must sign up right now! It’s free to join and you can browse virtual book groups to join. Some of these groups welcome indie authors and will hold group reviews.

I don’t want to make this post too long, and I want to save more for next time. So that’s it for now. Do you have any tips/lessons learned you’d like to share?