Genre Switching?

Standard

Sorry for the delay in posts! I was on a very relaxing vacation. Anyway, I’ve been thinking a lot lately about this new book I’m writing. I would categorize it as “New Adult.” The main character is 21 and just starting her first job out of college. It’s definitely more mature than Merch Girl and has some intense scenes that are not meant for younger eyes to read. This got me thinking about genres. I classify Merch Girl as “Young Adult” and it’s safe enough for tweens to read. Is it wrong to skip around genres when you’re building an audience?

Most of the authors I read stick to one genre, be it paranormal, contemporary, young adult, adult, etc. You get comfortable with it and know what to expect. But is that always a good thing? The only popular author who I can recall switching genres and keeping her same author name is J.K. Rowling who came out with an adult novel after finishing the Harry Potter series. I can’t blame her for switching genres if she had a story in her head that was itching to get out, but I wonder how many Harry Potter fans read her new book? I haven’t read it yet, so I can’t comment on it, but I would be interested in seeing what it’s all about.

I know that I also have ideas kicking around in my brain for paranormal and even non-fiction. I don’t want to hold myself back from writing anything just because it doesn’t fit the genre that I wrote in before. I actually think it might be nice to gain new readers…and who knows, there may be cross-over readers who enjoy Young Adult, New Adult, Paranormal and Non-fiction…I know I do!

Authors and readers…I’d love to hear your thoughts on this!

One response »

  1. I personally think YA & NA cross over pretty well. As long as your reader is aware that the content may be a bit more ‘mature’, you should be fine. Also, with indie pubbing, it’s a lot easier to cross genres because you don’t have a publishing company ‘branding’ you. Half of my ideas are (YA/NA) m/m LGBT. I write as much m/m stuff as I do hetero stuff. I probably couldn’t do that in the traditional world without a separate pen name to brand. I say go for it, and write the books your heart tells you to write. 🙂

Leave a Reply

