Musical Inspiration

Standard

While writing Merch Girls, my hopefully soon-to-be-published Young Adult novel, I felt that listening to music while writing could bring out even more emotion in my characters. Every few days I plan to post about one band or song that inspired me.

One of the bands that I listened to most while drafting the first copy of my manuscript was Fall Out Boy. I’m not gonna lie – I was pretty crushed when they broke up, but I still love listening to them while I type.

One of my favorite song quotes that really relates to my book is from their song, “27”: “Doing lines of dust and sweat off last night’s stage, just to feel like you.”

I think it embodies the emotion of wanting to be a part of music so badly that you need to not just hear it, but also feel it, smell it, and touch it.

Take a listen:

Leave a Reply

